Uncategorized

My Hair Story

Hey guys,

Still trying to get a hang of this blog life *sigh*

I’m going to be sharing stages of my hair transition from 2006 till date.. brace yourselves..but i will break it into two posts 🙂

I have always had really nice hair (thanks mummy) by all standards but I never really felt there was ever anything spectacular about it. Since I turned 10, I have been on creamy crack and boy did I love it- long thick black hair but something was missing- my hair never grew past a certain length so I always ended up chopping it off in the hopes of gaining new growth oh well hair we go (pun intended).

In 2006, I dyed my hair chestnut blonde, took care of it as best as I could- shampooing and conditioning when I could. I also relaxed it every 4 months and so it grew…1-2006

In 2007, my dye was already wearing off so I used the opportunity to visit the salon for a mini hair cut yay I loved it (regimen was pretty much the same like previous years aka nothing special) I also got some red streaks and cut a fringe but I can’t find a picture rocking it. 1-2007

By 2008, when I had grown out all my blonde hair, I was inspired by Rihanna’s short hair so I decided to go shorter again. BEST DECISION EVER..I rocked this cut like whoa..kept relaxing and trimming it to maintain the length till I got tired..1-2008

Stopped trimming my hair in 2009 so I just left it to grow- alternating between weaves and cornrows, didn’t have much of a regimen then but I wanted long hair so bad so made up my mind I wasn’t going to dye/cut it anymore (or so I thought)—-pardon my oily face, it was a tough year *tear drop*

1-1-2009.JPG

By 2010, I had missed my relaxed hair and hair dye so much,at the end of the year, I decided to relax then dye my hair, 2 weeks apart (GREATEST MISTAKE)..to top that, whenever I had a sew in and my leave out wasn’t as sleek, I would relax it and my GHD straightener (rest in peace baby) was my right hand..little did I know that was the beginning of my hair troubles. Dec 2010.JPG

Hmm 2011 was my worst hair year, I was miserable. For the first time in my entire life, my hair went on vacation- like my hair didn’t only break but some parts of my hair literally just had space- I was so frustrated! My creamy crack/hair dye/continuous hair straightening addiction had caught up with me (boo hoo) so I decided to start taking care of my hair by getting regular protein treatments and deep conditioning every weekend or as often as I could. My hair started behaving but I had other plans- I’ve always loved Kelly Osbourne’s hair styles and I needed an excuse to shave one side of my head and this was it (DON DON DON)- I shaved the back of my head and the right side (the parts that were disobedient)—my most edgy hair cut ever..I miss it hmmph2011.jpg

So that’s the end of my hair story part 1. Do you guys also have horror hair stories? Please share and don’t forget to follow me on instagram @zaynelane.

I’d love to hear from you guys!

Tea, Kisses and Love,

Lew x

6 thoughts on “My Hair Story

  1. Haha! Love your story. I remember all those your hair cuts and u rocked them to perfection. At least yours grows back when you chop it off, mine is a different story hehehe.

    Like

  2. Hey dear. Nice story about your hair, good to see you again. I have always admired how your hair grew so fast and so sleek. You also liked rocking long sew-in and long braids (dem Segi days)…lol. You inspired me somehow. Can’t wait for part 2 of the story. Cheers dear😃

    Like

  3. Love reading about your hair journey… Somewhat similar to mine except for the adventurous side… Haha can’t wait to read the rest of it… Woot woot!

    Like

Leave a Reply

