texlaxed · wash day chronicles

Wash Day..Braid edition

Hey ladies,

Can we just have a special salute in honor of bloggers?

I never thought it would be this hard but mehn hmm what’s been going on with you guys?

I got a new job *can’t contain my excitement* and I start today and guess what? I have butterflies in my tummy, wish me luck!

I’ll let you guys know about my exciting gig soon hehe

So yea I got my hair braided or should I say twisted during my trip to my village (Akpegede, Otukpo, Benue State, Nigeria) I know it’s a mouthful but just call it Texas like the rest of its indigenes.

It cost less than 3,000 Naira (Β£10.40, $15) whoop whoop imagine the joy in my heart when I was done with my hair and the lady who twisted my hair said the price…like she made it at my house *insert victory dance* I never braided my hair when I lived in London cause I was a cheapskate and I wasn’t about to cough out a ridiculous amount just cause I wanted some nice long braids but HOOOOORAY the perks of being home!

This protective style is simply amazing cause it will give me a chance to take a break from washing my hair cause it takes a lot of time but will remain hydrated so it is a win win*ding ding ding* situation!

OK this post is about my pre-twist regimen (wash day)- before I braid/twist my hair, I have to wash and condition my hair yo so my scalp and hair are cleannnnnnnnn!Hair goes –

1-IMG_3905-1

Step 1

I washed my hair with OGX Renewing Moroccan Argan Oil Shampoo to cleanse my hair which made it feel soft and shiny when I was done πŸ™‚ I like this shampoo but it is pricey for me which is why I stick to my ride or die Creme of Nature Argan Oil Shampoo but this shampoo is also the truth πŸ™‚

41Q8WHH6vFL._SY355_.jpg

Picture Credit: Amazon

Step 2

After rinsing my shampooed hair with cold water, I rinsed with a mixture of Jasmine Green Tea (I actually drink this too) + Black Tea rinse. Jasmine Green Tea rinse reduces shedding, prevents dandruff and promotes luster while Black tea rinse also reduces shedding, strengthens and thickens hair as well as adds rich color to my hair (natural black)..been doing tea rinses for almost 4 years and I have no regrets.

green_tea_gelsomino-215x252Picture Credit:Twinings3055-983734-tea200-300x300Picture Credit: Lipton

Step 3

After my tea rinse, I used an old t-shirt to squeeze the excess tea from my hair then I applied some Organics Cholesterol Tea-Tree Oil with 3 spoons of Palm Oil (yes it’s not only useful for making delicious soups but it is rich in Vitamin E which strengthens hair, promotes hair growth and clean scalp, it is one of the best conditioners I have ever used and I LOVE IT)- not to worry you won’t smell like soup once it is rinsed out properly πŸ™‚

518PPFUbH9L._SY355_Picture Credit: Paks Cosmetics

My fave shampoo- Creme of Nature Argan Oil Shampoo contains Palm Oil too, so why wouldn’t I love this super conditioner?

I left the mixture in my hair for 2 hours well in all honesty, I fell asleep -_-

Bowl-of-red-palm-oil.jpg

Picture Credit: Palm oil Health

Step 4

I rinsed out my conditioning mix then used OGX Renewing Argan Oil of Morocco Conditioner for like a minute to mask the smell of the Palm Oil and voila soft mane, hair clean and scalp fresh!

k2-_a3b58b7a-a8a5-4655-8fc1-67eb6158a793.v3.jpg

Picture Credit: Walmart

Step 5

I rinsed out the conditioner with cold water and wrapped my hair in another old t-shirt then applied a little 100% Coconut Oil to my scalp from Every Mums (I LOVEEEEEEEEEEEE THIS COCONUT OIL —I am passionate about Coconut Oil and this one right here isn’t processed so it’s in its natural form and has a rich coconut smell…love it oh so much!

1-Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 1.15.16 AM

Mixed the Coconut Oil with Raw Shea Butter from Every Mums (yes I am a believer, love their natural product range, you guys should check them out) to grease my scalp. I was away from home so I just took a little quantity to use in the village πŸ™‚

1-Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 1.15.42 AM

Picture Credit:Every Mums

Step 6

I used about 2 drops of Vitale Olive Oil Hair Polisher on my hair to add a little luster then I detangled my hair with my giant tooth comb and it was soft and shiny (I was too tired to take pictures of my hair when I was done).

vitale-olive-oil-hair-polisher-6ozPicture Credit:Vitale

The next day, I got the most amazing twists done.Anyone with a similar wash day process before getting braids or twists done?

I love hearing from you guys, so feel free to drop me a shout in the comment box below!

Have an amazing week guys πŸ™‚

Tea, Love and Kisses,

Lew x

1-Recently Updated3.jpg

 

2 thoughts on “Wash Day..Braid edition

Leave a Reply

