natural · relaxed · texlaxed

Did you know?

Hi *waves*,

Epic weekend wasn’t it?

It was so nice to just kick back and relax!

NEPA ugh Power Holding Company of Nigeria, PLEASE CAN YOU GUYS STOP HOARDING OUR LIGHT? UGHHHHH it is 2016 yet we are still hustling for light in this country- no bueno!

Oh and fuel’s scarcity too hmm matter of fact I will just hmm -_-

I’m so excited about today’s post because one of the main reasons why I created this blog was to create a platform to share information – I share what I know and you guys do the same (let’s keep this going). Knowledge is power I tell you, KNOWLEDGE IS POWERRRRRRR!!!

Many of us have little or no information on how to care for our hair- we just follow trends THEN we get stuck -__-. I am a typical example, I went natural just cause and when it got too deep for me (I couldn’t cope with all the products, regimen and what not) I FLED.

I’m not against Naturalistas or Relaxed sistas or any hair sista, I just wish we all knew what we were getting our scalps into before venturing the unknown.

did-you-know.jpg

Hair are some things I didn’t know…and my texlaxed hair journey has taught me…

Long hair does not necessarily mean healthy hair. Short hair does not necessarily mean unhealthy hair too. The length of a person’s hair has nothing to do with hair health- it has everything to do with hair elasticity (how hair bounces back when its stretched. TRY THIS– take strands from different areas on your head, hold the strands and lightly pull and release. If the stretched hair returns to its original length, your hair has high elasticity, on the other hand, if it fails to return to its former stretched length, you have low elasticity. Healthy hair has high elasticity, which is why healthy hair has volume and a bounce to it. I have high elasticity just in case you were wondering 😀

Hair-elasticitiy.jpg

Picture Credit: Vissa Studios

Generally, the first 5 ingredients say all you need to know about the product. Parabens, Sulfates, Mineral Oil, Parrafinum Liquidum and Petrolatum are words you should know.

No-Sulfates-Mineral-Oil-Parabens.png

Picture Credit: Longing 4 Length

  • Parabens are preservatives used to prevent bacteria in products such as lotions, lipsticks, deodorants and other beauty and pharmaceutical products. Recently, paraben- free hair products have become prominent among naturalistas, relaxed and texlaxed ladies however some of us use these products without necessarily knowing why or what it means. Well, parabens have little or no effect on hair as they rinse out easily however the reason why we avoid these products is as a result of its alleged relationship with health challenges such as breast cancer but there has been no scientific evidence proving parabens cause cancer.
  • Sulfates are foaming agents commonly found in Shampoos, Soap and other hygiene products. These chemicals strip our hair of essential oils causing frizzy and dry hair, using hair products containing sulfates can cause long-term damage (scalp irritation, split ends, frizzy hair) which is why they should be avoided like a plague. The most common ingredient is Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (SLS), Sodium Laureth Sulfate (SLES) or Ammonium Lauryl Sultfate (ALS), sadly these are present in many products we use but I say, whatever you can avoid, avoid- like your hair products cause dry hair is not sexy at all.
  • Mineral Oil is gotten from Crude oil! WHY should that be an ingredient for any hair product or ANY product anyone uses on their body? I won’t bother explaining why you shouldn’t even use this on your hair! STOP!!!
  • Paraffinum Liquidum is a refined mineral oil (thanks, Wikipedia!) used in hair and beauty products. The only product I use that contains this is my Vatika Naturals Black Seed Enriched Oil (I use it as my pre-poo) – I just discovered it this year and its amazing but I am currently searching for a replacement.
  • Petrolatum also known as Petroleum is any common ingredient found in hair products because it is cheap. It blocks air and moisture resulting in blocked pores and when your pores are blocked, no nutrients to go in and dirt is trapped so please avoid products with P. Remember growing up and our scalps/hair were slapped with hair cream that were greasy and generally somehow looking yea don’t do that! I’m still trying to breakup with Vaseline (for my lips) cause it contains Petrolatum :(.

What works for A, does not necessarily work for B, C or D. The important thing is to try out products to find out what works for you and stick to it religiously.

A one size fits all approach does not apply to all types of hair, the regimen for relaxed hair is different from that of natural hair and that of texlaxed. Empower yourself!

Water is everything. Moisture is essential! Want beautiful healthy hair? Drink water and E-X-E-R-C-I-S-E oh yea always get water-based products!

0827e71e8f005685a7c0ee63a2285a8f.jpgPicture Credit: The Herbalist Life

Protein-based products are essential, they promote strength and we all need strong hair okay? Our hair is made up of protein so yea feed that hair, take your protein treatments religiously, at the same time, excess protein is not good for the hair so you must find a balance – I suggest 50/50 (moisture and protein treatments).

indexPicture Credit: Authority Nutrition

Protective styles repeat after me P-R-O-T-E-C-T-I-V-E S-T-Y-L-I-N-G (there’s an upcoming post specifically for this). These help with length retention- you avoid touching your hair, combing and causing tension to the scalp. Please allow those edges breathe. I’m a WIG and Braids girl (I only make BIG braids cause I love it), if you’re a weave girl, please 3 weeks is enough before you take your hair out. Yea I’m rocking a wig + lace frontal in the picture below 🙂 I make beautiful wigs that don’t look wiggy if that’s a word hehe)

20140702_145116.jpg

Picture Credit: God hehe

Shampoo only when you feel your hair is dirty or you want to remove buildup from your hair . Try co-washing (washing with a conditioner) if you want to wash your hair often. I wash my hair weekly but if I don’t feel it’s dirty, I just co-wash. Also CLARIFY, you need to do this every 6-8 weeks (don’t have a clarifying shampoo? Add Baking Soda to your regular Shampoo and voila BEAUTIFUL CLARIFYING SHAMPOO).

shampoo

Picture Credit: Healthy Black Woman

A healthy hair journey is everything! Next week, I will be sharing details of what I think is important for a HHJ.

Did I miss you out any points?

Please enlighten us! 

Feel free to drop a comment below.

Tea, Love and Kisses,

Lew x

 

Leave a Reply

