natural · relaxed · texlaxed

Cleanse…

HEYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!

I feel like I abandoned my blog and I’m so sorry!!!

It feels I have less than 24 hours in a day sigh

I manage a Salon (love my job yo) – Capelli Hair Salon and Beauty Parlour, 107B Opebi Street, Lagos-shameless plug, I also just started an explore Nigeria thing called Around n Around (first trip comes up May 27th 2016 so actively working on that), I’m working on an exciting idea with my sisters so it’s like I’m everywhere AND I still have my first love- this blog so yeah.

Oh and I sell beautiful human hair ZLHaiR under Zaynelane, I just got new stock and I have not even had the time to upload pictures or anything (I WILL GET TO IT ASAP).

Sometimes it feels overwhelming but I love everything I do, I’m thankful for strength from my Heavenly Father so I cannot complain.

A Girl must Grind!!!

I’m working today by the way, a L’oreal Mizani Rep from Paris is visiting my Salon so your girl has to be there ohhh if you follow me on the gram, you’ll see my hair was blessed (cut and styled) by her, thank you AD!!!

IMG_5992-1

Sooooooooo last week, I wrote on the essentials for a Healthy hair Journey, the first on the list was Shampoo (a tool for cleansing) so lemme jump right into it!

Some of the components of our hair are proteins and water. Afro-textured hair compared to Caucasian and Asian hair tends to have less moisture compared to other ethnic groups.

Our scalp produces sebum, a lubricant, important for moisture retention and protection of hair follicle. Water is an important source of moisture, essential for cleansing, growth and protection. When water and sebum are not able to absorb our strands, it causes dry hair.

Afro-textured hair unlike Caucasian and Asian hair lacks a direct channel for the movement of sebum and water to the hair shaft that is why our hair is drier than other ethnic groups.

Dry and brittle hair tends to break or split, this means we are more prone to breakage/damage than other ethnic groups.

In order to tackle breakage or split ends caused by dryness, we need to:

  • Remove Dirt and Clarify – Dirty hair is a breeding ground for all sorts- dirt and product residue, this in turn prevents moisture causing blocked hair follicles leading to dryness causing breakage.
  • Infuse moisture – Clean scalp and hair allows air and other yummy goodness penetrate the hair shaft. Washing your hair regularly aids moisture balance promoting elasticity and porosity, essential for healthy hair.

Types of Shampoo

  • Shampoos with Sulfates – Sulfate Shampoos are harsh on the scalp and hair, continuous use leads to dry and brittle hair HENCE STRIPPING HAIR OF ITS NATURAL OILS AND SEBUM.

Read here for bad ingredients for hair products, sulfates are one of them.

Majority of the available shampoos contain sulfates which is why you should research and read ingredients.

  • Sulfate-Free Shampoos – These shampoos are used to remove dirt and clarify hair and scalp. They are not as harsh as shampoos with sulfates, which strip the hair off its natural oils. Sulfate-free should be printed on the label of the shampoo or simply check the ingredients to confirm sodium lauryl sulfate, ammonium laureth sulfate are not listed.

Recommended Sulfate-Free Shampoos

  • Crème of Nature Argan Oil Shampoo (my fave, I use this Un apologetically)

IMG_2820.JPG

  • Shea Moisture Organic Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo

764302280200.pngPicture Credit: Shea Moisture

  • Mizani True Textures Curl Balance ShampooIMG_5863.JPG
  • Mizani Supreme Oil Shampoo

IMG_5865.JPG

  • Keracare Hydrating Detangling Shampoo

hydrating-detangling-shampoo-classic1Picture Credit: Keracare

SFS are ideal for weekly use however it is advisable to infuse a Clarifying Shampoo in your regimen once a month (some use it every 6-8 weeks). SFS are gentle and do not entirely remove hair residue or product build up which is why you need a Clarifying Shampoo which contains harsh ingredients such as sulfates to do the work.

DO NOT USE A CLARIFYING SHAMPOO weekly.

Recommended Clarifying Shampoos

  • Mane n Tail Gentle Clarifying Shampoo

 IMG_3604.JPG

  • Organic Root Stimulator Uplifting Shampoo

 organic-root-stimulator-uplifting-shampoo-9-oz-4.gif
Picture Credit: ORS

Don’t have a clarifying shampoo or don’t want to buy one? Simply mix 3 tablespoons of Baking soda in a bowl of water, add your regular moisturizing shampoo voila clarifying shampoo! I use this method sometimes- it is cheap and effective!

NOTE- Daily washing is not recommended for Afro-Textured hair as we don’t produce sufficient sebum so when our hair is shampooed regularly, it strips us of the little natural oils we produce causing additional dryness.

I cleanse my hair weekly- based on my hair needs, my cleansing depends on how my hair feels. When it’s dirty, I shampoo with my Crème of Nature Argan Oil Shampoo, when I need to boost moisture levels, I co-wash with any cheap conditioner I lay my hands on haha (most times, Alberto vo5 Moisture Milks, Herbal Essence Hello Hydration or Alberto Balsam Conditioner or Palmolive Naturals Conditioner) and I clarify every month with Mane n Tail Gentle Clarifying Shampoo.

Co-Washing

Co-washing simply means washing your hair with a conditioner.

A conditioner (I insist on a moisturizing conditioner), is applied to the hair from the root to tip then rinsed out.

Co-washing can be used when you are avoiding the harshness of a shampoo or when you feel your hair is stiff and you just need a moisture boost or if you plan on cleansing your hair more than once a week then you can alternate between a co-wash and shampoo.

You will also need to use a Clarifying Shampoo to remove build-up once a month.

IMG_2679.JPG

ZL Tips

  • If you’re unsure of what your hair needs, start by shampooing once a week.
  • Always pre-poo. Pre-poo simply involves massaging a moisturizing conditioner into your scalp and hair for a certain time (usually an hour prior to shampooing, I do mine overnight cause it’s more effective). It helps replenish moisture, soften hair and detangling. I pre-poo with a cheap moisturizing conditioner (same conditioner I use to co-wash) and a carrier oil (usually coconut oil), but this year I started pre-pooing with Black see oil and IT IS AMAZING!

IMG_3809-1.JPG

 

  • Detangle with your hands! You don’t always need a comb!
  • Wash your hair downwards, it’s easier to manipulate and less prone to tangling
  • Dilute your shampoo with water, helps conserve your shampoo and infuses more moisture.
  • Use an old clean cotton t-shirt in place of a towel to dry your hair. The materials of a t shirt is softer and less irritating to our hair.
  • Air dry your hair! Lay off that blow dryer, excess heat causes damage!
  • With protective styling, you must cleanse, at least once a week, simply squeeze two pumps of your moisturizing conditioner into your spray bottle with water- spray and massage!

Hope this was helpful!

Gotta run to work!

Have an amazing weekend,

Love,

Lew

x

One thought on “Cleanse…

Leave a Reply

