texlaxed

Texlax update…

Hey guys 🙂

Hope your week is going good! Can’t complain, last week was awesome 🙂

Spent it bonding with my fam and it was so fulfilling but man must work so yea *back to my grind*

Since I started this blog, one thing has been constant- the word “Texlax”-it totally changed my world yes I’m being dramatic but Texlaxing is the best thing that happened to my hair. So today’s post is on *drum roll*

T E X L A X I N G!!

Texlax is a portmanteau of Texturize and Relax. The term “Texlaxing” simply means under processing one’s hair with a relaxer to retain volume. I call it in-between hair as your hair isn’t relaxed or natural but it a mix – so it’s not bone straight or totally unprocessed.

I started Texlaxing because I hated the flat look of relaxed hair and I missed natural hair- its versatility, texture and volume but natural hair was too stressful and I could not deal. I enjoy texlaxed hair cause my hair is less damaged as it is not thoroughly processed with chemicals however the constant battle between shedding and breakage is real as a result of where both textures meet (line of demarcation- see picture below), other than that, I am sold on texlaxed hair forevuhhhhhhhhh! I texlax once a year though I will be switching to twice a year cause I am tired of spending eternity detangling my hair on wash day.

Before this, my last texlax date was June 20th 2015 so yeaaaa I stretched out my relaxer that long (I am side-eyeing myself too).

1-IMG_2417.JPG

How do you texlax? Different people have different methods of texlaxing but the central theme is under processing one’s hair with a NORMAL (not extra strength relaxer) cause my first experience texlaxing was with an extra strength relaxer ugh most of hair turned out relaxed so please mild relaxer guys 🙂

Here’s how I texlax-

I use a home made deep moisturizing protein treatment at least a week prior to prepare my scalp and fortify my hair.

On my texlax day, I base my scalp and hair with a lot of oil (I MEAN the oil on my hair that day is enough for 2 gigantic pots of stew OKAY? I use virgin coconut oil as it acts as a barrier to the relaxer over processing my hair and it is also light weight 🙂 I massage the oil so it penetrates my hair shaft too. Only CARRIER OILS ( olive oil, jojoba oil, grape seed oil and sweet almond oil or any other carrier oil) should be mixed with your relaxer not ESSENTIAL OILS (eucalyptus oil, carrot oil or lavender oil).

Yes that’s oil on my hair and scalp 😀

1-IMG_2418.JPG

I mix 2 tablespoons of sweet almond oil into a cup of ORS crème relaxer (no base formula)- normal.

41PA-nISwrLPicture credit: Paks Cosmetics

The relaxer is then applied to my new growth and is not combed – I leave mine for about 13 minutes before washing off with Elasta QP Stop-Action Conditioning Neutralizing Shampoo to stop the relaxer from processing my hair.

61XvqkCEnYL._SY355_

Picture Credit: Paks Cosmetics

I rinse with lukewarm water then apply a protein treatment (Aphogee Two-Step Protein Treatment and three table spoons of mayonnaise) to my hair.

TwoStepProtein_16oz

Picture Credit: Paks Cosmetics

I also add a moisturizing treatment ( Crème of Nature Intensive conditioning Treatment) to my hair and I wear a shower cap for 20 minutes.

41Yg2d7xIEL._SY355_.jpg

Picture Credit: Amazon

THEN I rinse out with lukewarm water then cold water.

An old t-shirt is used to squeeze out excess water.

I apply my Soft Sheen Carson Wave Nouveau Moisturizing Lotion with Elasta QP Olive Oil and Mango Butter Leave-in Conditioner before my hair is blow dried and flat ironed.

61XyRICurEL._SY355_

Picture Credit: Paks Cosmetics

 

155

Picture Credit: Walgreens

This is the only time I blow dry my hair and flat iron my hair -_- then I rub some coconut oil on my hair.

1-IMG_2489.JPG

Voila hair laid HOLLAAAAAAAAAA!!!! Soft hair *check* shiny hair *check*

And I enjoy straight and silky hair for the week until I wash it again…

1-Texlax post.jpg

Fellow telaxers (people who also texlax their hair)- yes I just created the word -__-, care to share your texlax regimen? How often?

Is anyone’s regimen similar to this? please share 🙂

Have a fab week guys 🙂

Tea, kisses and love,

Lew x

 

Leave a comment